Back to Workshops

2019 Bempton Cliffs Photography Workshops

  • Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire
  • from £200.00 (see pricing table below)

Bempton Cliffs is home to over 400,000 seabirds from March to September. This is a very exciting place for wildlife photography, with many great opportunities to capture all the species close up, from the birds on the cliff-face to those in flight. 

Key Species: - Puffin, Gannet, Kittiwake, Fulmar, Guillemot, Razorbill, Herring Gull and Shag. 

This 1 to 1 or 2 to 1 photography workshop will be tailored towards beginners, enthusiasts and photographers who want to learn more about the different aspects of wildlife photography. We will start with a look at the techniques and equipment needed with advice and tips on how to capture that perfect wildlife image.

You will learn about correct exposure, how to deal with tricky lighting conditions such as harsh sunlight or low light levels, depth of field techniques, apertures, ISO, autofocus, shutter speeds and composition. Advice will be given regarding the different species of seabirds and the incredible seabird colony in which they raise their young.

Facilities: The Seabird Centre includes an interpretation area, shop, toilets, picnic area and five cliff-top viewpoints.

Please note: If you would like to attend on a particular date listed below, but would prefer a different type of workshop, e.g. half day, group session etc, please contact the YCN office on 01723 865498 and we may be able to accommodate you.


2019 Bempton Cliffs Photography Workshops

Steve Race Steve is an award-winning professional wildlife photographer based in Scarborough, North Yorkshire. He has been a keen naturalist and photographer for over 30 years, lived on the Yorkshire Coast all of his life and believes there is no better place for variety of habitats and amazing wildlife. Inspired by the... Read More

Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Tue 26th Mar - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 28th Mar - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 29th Mar - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Mon 1st Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 2nd Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 4th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 5th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 6th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Tue 9th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 11th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 12th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 16th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 18th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 20th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 23rd Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 30th Apr - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Thu 2nd May - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 4th May - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Tue 7th May - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Tue 14th May - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Sat 1st Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Tue 4th Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 8th Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 11th Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 18th Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 22nd Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 25th Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 29th Jun - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Tue 2nd Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 4th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Sat 6th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Tue 9th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 11th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 13th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 16th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 0 Places remaining
Thu 18th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 20th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 23rd Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 25th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 27th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 30th Jul - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Thu 1st Aug - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 3rd Aug - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 7th Aug - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 8th Aug - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining
Sat 10th Aug - 9.30am 1 day RSPB Bempton Cliffs, East Yorkshire TBC 1 Places remaining

Workshop Reviews

25 average rating based on 2 reviews

"I'd just like to thank you very much for the information and advice you gave me during todays workshop at Bempton, I've reviewed the photo's and...Read Full Review »

“I thought I was proficient a wildlife photographer but a day out with Steve has taken my work to a whole different level. His knowledge of...Read Full Review »