Back to Workshops

Autumn & Winter Bird Photography Experience

  • North & East Yorkshire
  • from £200.00 (see pricing table below)

Throughout Autumn/Winter the Yorkshire Coast is a hotspot for sea ducks, divers, grebes, white-winged gulls and waders. The inland lakes and pools are a strong holding for wintering waterfowl, with large numbers of ducks and geese moving in and along the coast.

Our knowledge of the Yorkshire Coast will take you to the best places along this beautiful coastline ensuring your chances of obtaining some lovely images. 

Key Species: - Goosander, Red-breasted Merganser, Red-throated Diver, Great Northern Diver, Great Crested Grebe, Little Grebe, Slavonian Grebe, Goldeneye, Eider, Gadwall, Pochard, Teal, Tufted Duck, Shoveler, Smew, Pink-footed Goose, White-fronted Goose, Mediterranean Gull, Glaucous Gull and Iceland Gull, Oystercatcher, Turnstone, Dunlin, Curlew, Purple Sandpiper, Knot, Redshank, Ringed Plover, Grey Plover, Bar-tailed Godwit and Peregrine Falcon.

Details
This experience is ideal for those wanting to learn more about their cameras and for gaining a good understanding of the principles and technique involved in wildlife photography. Shutter speed, ISO settings, aperture, depth of field, angles, composition and approaching subjects are all covered. This experience is also ideal for more experienced photographers looking to find and photograph new species and learn about fieldcraft and behaviours of these different species.

Sometimes the weather can be challenging on the Yorkshire Coast as we  look at these elements, so we work on how to adjust the camera settings to compensate.

Please note: If you would like to attend on a particular date listed below, but would prefer a different type of experience, e.g. half day, group etc., please contact us and we may be able to accommodate you.


Autumn & Winter Bird Photography Experience

Steve Race YCN role:  Company Director and Pro Wildlife Photographer/Wildlife Guide Awards:  2013 - “Commended” in the “Wildlife Photographer of the Year Awards”. 2013 - “Commended” in the “Big Picture USA – Natural World Photography Competition”. 2013 -... Read More

Date & Time Duration Location Type Price Availability
Tue 3rd Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Thu 5th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Mon 9th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Wed 11th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Fri 20th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Wed 25th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Fri 27th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Mon 30th Nov - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 2nd Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 4th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 0 Places remaining
Mon 7th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 9th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 11th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 14th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 16th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 17th Dec - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 4th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 6th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 8th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 11th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Thu 14th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 20th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 25th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 27th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 29th Jan - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 1st Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 3rd Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 5th Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 8th Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Tue 9th Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 12th Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Mon 22nd Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Wed 24th Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining
Fri 26th Feb - 9.00am 1 day Yorkshire Coast TBC 1 Places remaining